Throw it Away

Beauty and the Beast.jpgI stumbled over those VCR tapes for years, not wanting to throw them away because they brought back such good memories of when my children were young. “They are worthless,” I kept telling myself. “Throw them away.” But this morning I discovered that one of them was currently selling online for anywhere between $900.00 to $10,000.00. Now I’m frantically trying to remember if I finally did throw them away, or if I stored the black garbage bag they called home somewhere up in the attic. (I’ll be checking in a few minutes.)

As I sat there thinking about how funny it was that something I considered of no value others consider of great value, I thought about God’s opinion of man. He considered Adam “very good” before Adam was able to do anything good or bad. He dubbed Adam good because He dubbed Adam good. It was His opinion alone that gave Adam his value.

Today, it is God’s opinion that gives us value. He loves us because He loves us, not because of who we are or what we have accomplished. We are His creation and therefore we are of value. The weak, the strong, the wealthy, the down-trodden, the beautiful, the not so beautiful, the talented, the not so talented—we are all of value to Him because of His love for us.

I thank God that what some people call worthless, He calls of great value—great enough that He gave His life to rescue that “worthless” being from an eternity of separation from Him.

“For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

Leave a Reply

