How Can I Better Support My Pastor?

J. Stephen Conn / Foter / CC BY-NC

My first thought when I considered the topic of this blog was, “I can’t write what I really believe.” I quieted the guilt in my heart by reasoning that there were a dozen very good alternatives. For example, pastors and their families always need extra prayer. They can always use assistance with visiting those in need or with church programs or activities. Surely these recommendations would suffice, but then I reconsidered my original thought by reasoning, “How can church members know unless someone who has ‘been there done that’ tells them?” Therefore, whether or not it is politically correct in the religious world, here goes. In my opinion, having been a minister’s wife for thirty years, I believe the best way a church member can better support their pastor is to be politically active in church life, meaning to be ready and willing to take a stand for their minister whenever the need may arise. Why? Because there are and will always be, as the New Testament describes, “tares among the wheat.” These tares aren’t true believers, but they play the “obedient servant of God” role beautifully. They outwardly give the appearance of being wheat and are masters at causing confusion and igniting and fueling whispering campaigns. They have an uncanny ability to stifle church growth and ministry by tying the hands of their God ordained leader, their pastor. They are mere tools of the devil and slow down or hinder church growth.

I can remember a time when someone in my church approached my parents with the hint of ousting our minister. My parents’ response was, “You can if you want, but we can promise you we will be going with him. We won’t be a part of a church that runs its pastor off.” By voicing their disapproval and refusal to participate, they, along with a few other members who took the same stand, stopped the scheme in its tracks.

On the other hand, I have also witnessed a godly man who carried much influence in his church refuse to stand with his pastor because he didn’t like to get involved in church politics. As a result, he allowed a diabolical scheme to thicken until his pastor, a pastor whom he dearly loved, was forced to leave. He easily carried enough influence to halt the whispering campaign when it was young, yet he refused to get involved. God did take care of that pastor, as He always does, but the church soon gained the reputation of being a pastor killer and lost its influence in the area.

So in my opinion, if you want to better support your pastor, be willing to take a political stand against your church’s tares before it’s too late. Don’t allow your minister to become one of the many thousands who are run off every year by Satan’s implants!

5 thoughts on “How Can I Better Support My Pastor?

  1. Pingback: My First WordPress.com Website | southfloridadecor

  2. I emphatically agree. When people focus on politics rather than on the gospel, all the little things blow out of proportion. I’d love to see church members more concerned about sharing the gospel and less focused on things that don’t matter. A friend of mine recently became a pastor of a church, and he texted me the other day, “these people argue over stupid stuff and no one is talking about evangelism.” I think the local church is gonna perish if we don’t start taking the gospel seriously. -Caleb

  3. I had someone tell me once to “choose your battles or you will always be at war.” I found over the years how true this statement was. I was a pastors wife for 13 years. I watched people who loudly applauded themselves for there dedication and service do nothing but argue over every little thing that made no difference at the end of the day, yet run out of time at the “business meeting” to discuss supporting mission work. I believe if more church members spent time on their knees asking what direction God wanted the church to go, they would find that there is nothing to argue over. Division is not of God and if you are one to argue every direction that your pastor tries to go and wonder what the problem is “why isn’t he getting it”, you might want to look in the mirror and then ask forgiveness and support your pastor. Then, encourage others to do the same and watch the fire grow and God bless your church.

Leave a Reply

